Skip to main content » Skip to section navigation » Top of page
Explore Funds:

Sorority - Delta Sigma Theta

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated was founded on January 13th, 1913 on the campus of Howard University by twenty-two young and determined undergraduate women. Their vision was to promote a better enriching world of social welfare, academic excellence, and cultural enrichment while de-emphasizing the social side of sorority life. The Iota Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated, formally known as the New England Chapter, was the first chapter of any black sorority in the New England Area. Iota chapter was chartered on December 29, 1921, and it is the ninth chapter of the sorority. The sorority’s First National President, Sadie T.M. Alexander, and Virginia Alexander came from Grand Chapter in Washington, D.C. to initiate the women who had hopes of becoming members of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. Iota Chapter was initially a mixed chapter that consisted of undergraduate and graduate women.